Lenten Devotional: Saturday, March 21, 2015

Matthew 11:28-30 “Come to me all who are weary and burdened, and I will
give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and
humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and
my burden is light.”Jesus

There have been times when the guilt and shame I have felt for my past sins and
mistakes have weighed me down so that I thought I could not get up. Then in that
still small voice he calls and says, “Let me take that guilt and shame because I have
forgiven you for all your past sins and mistakes. Take my yoke and you will know true
love.” Now as I look to him, my one true love, my heart is bursting to overflowing with
his love. He helps me forgive myself when at times I can’t. He gives me peace when
the world is shouting in my ears and reminding me of my past. He gives me rest when
there is chaos all around me.

Prayer: Thank you Lord for your love that you have given to me. May I always look to
you for rest and peace in this world. Amen.

From “Now What?”
A 2015 Lenten Devotional
Reprinted with permission of Prison Congregations of America
Devotionals are written by prison inmates

Leave a Reply

