Lenten Devotional: Friday, March 20, 2015

Hebrews 1:14 “Are not all angels ministering spirits sent to serve those who
will inherit salvation?”

Hebrews 13:2 “Do not forget to entertain strangers, for by so doing some
people have entertained angels without knowing it.”

Driving down the highway my dad picks him up. I’m scared of him, not talking to him
and basically yelling at my dad. My dad turns and looks at me, stops the car and makes
me get out and walk for about 5 minutes. It’s cold and snowing. I have no hat and no
gloves. When my dad lets me back into the car where it’s warm, I look at the man with
new eyes. “I’m sorry for being mean,” I say to them both. When we get to where we
are going my dad takes the man to the bus station and gets him a ticket home. I give
him my stuffed bunny, not realizing that my dad had a tag sewn on the bottom of one ofDaddy Bunny, Age: 8, Height: 14", Belongs to: Zoe Bracken
the legs with our address on it. Three years go by when my bunny shows back up with
a picture of a little girl and the man who, on his way home we had stopped to help.

Prayer: Thank you for teaching me a lesson of love through my dad. Amen.

From “Now What?”
A 2015 Lenten Devotional
Reprinted with permission of Prison Congregations of America
Devotionals are written by prison inmates

Leave a Reply

