Lenten Devotional: Thursday, March 19, 2015

Psalm 88:1-2 “O Lord, the God who saves me, day and night I cry out before
you. May my prayer come before you; turn your ear to my cry.”Katrina

The first time I read this I was at a very low point. Since the age of 13 I’ve been in and
out of foster homes, group homes, and juvenile hall. Then I came to prison. I have
spent the majority of my life alone. So reading this psalm put words into what I was
feeling. Reading this chapter showed me I’m not alone. So now that I have God in my
life I’ll never be alone again. I’ll always have a friend. Now I have to continue to be
loyal, committed and faithful to him so I don’t lose my friend. I know that he’ll always
hear my cry for help, be my ear, my shoulder, and reason to hang on until tomorrow.

Prayer: Dear God, I pray for the world and that you open everyone’s heart to love.
Amen.

From “Now What?”
A 2015 Lenten Devotional
Reprinted with permission of Prison Congregations of America
Devotionals are written by prison inmates

Leave a Reply

