Lenten Devotional: Tuesday, March 17, 2015

Matthew 25:36 “I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you
looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.”

Matthew 16:25 [Jesus said] “For whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but
whoever loses his life for me will find it.”
o-VISIT-PRISON-facebook
Many know and quote Matthew 25 and Hebrews 13, telling us to visit prisoners or
remembering those in prison. As a person in prison hears these words, we put “ME” in
place of prisoner and as for myself I try to turn it around a bit since I am in prison I need
to witness to those in my midst. I reflect on Matthew 16:25. For this, this is what I need
to tell those I’m witnessing to. We all may feel like we’ve lost our life (soul) when those
gates shut with a BANG as we entered prison. For many this was the point when Jesus
was made known to them. And I know for sure without a doubt this (coming to know
Jesus) was the luckiest time in my life so losing one’s freedom, eternal life can be had.
Praise God.

Prayer: My prayer for all who are looking for something yet not known to them; Jesus is
looking for you. Amen.

From “Now What?”
A 2015 Lenten Devotional
Reprinted with permission of Prison Congregations of America
Devotionals are written by prison inmates

Leave a Reply

