Lenten Devotional: Thursday, March 12, 2015

Micah 6:8 “…Do justice, love kindness, and walk humbly with your God.”tumblr_mpw275JQUw1rcb4fgo1_1280

“Now what?” “Pray like it depends on God, work like it depends on you.” Those are
the words of the book I am studying – that teaches us circle prayers. When I have
needs, I’ve prayed like it depends on God about those things. I have, for 2 months,
every morning, risen at 4:00 a.m. and prayed my circle prayers. Last week I did the
“work” – I filed a complaint on the parole board to establish a law that will ensure fair
and impartial parole hearings for all inmates. It was the right thing to do. Today I was
blasted in the newspaper for it. Now what? Did my circle prayers not work? One
of my prayers was for protection from slander. I don’t feel protected…so now what?
Well, I keep praying my circle prayers, believe God will honor the integrity in which I
decided to stand on and trust that in the big picture change will happen. Better government
will be the end result. Dream big, pray big, pray hard, don’t give up – that’s what
now. Continue to stand (Psalm 73:17-20). God sees the end when I can’t. Pray like it
depends on God and work like it depends on you.

Prayer: Lord, you are more important than anything else in life, you are all the strength
I need, and you are as fair as you are merciful. Please draw near to me as I draw near
to you. Keep me strong in heart and full of hope with your vision for the future. Amen.

From “Now What?”
A 2015 Lenten Devotional
Reprinted with permission of Prison Congregations of America
Devotionals are written by prison inmates

Leave a Reply

