Lenten Devotional: Saturday, March 7, 2015

Matthew 5:16 [Jesus said] “In the same way let your light shine before men, that
they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.”

Hebrews: 13:15-16 “Through Jesus, therefore, let us continually offer to God a
sacrifice of praise – the fruit of lips that confess his name. And do not forget to
do good and to share with others, for with such sacrifices God is pleased.”jesuslightoftheworld-800

When I first came to prison, I felt lost. But I knew what I wanted and that was to build
a relationship with God. I had gone to all the Bible studies offered, attended all the
religious activities in hopes of doing this. I still had felt like I wasn’t getting it. I had
been praying to God for help, if he would send someone to help. To my surprise he
did. I am currently still studying and building that much appreciated foundation that I
need and want. I am now trying to have an inquiring heart by regular prayerful study of
God’s word. I try to combine my thoughts, desires, emotions and goals in life with what
God approves of. Then I will be able to share my new life with others through my walk.
I know I will have more trials and tribulations but with God’s help I will make it. My
journey is beginning and I see a bright future.

Prayer: Heavenly Father, I pray to you that you will continue to help all of us and guide
us to do your will. And that I remember that I am only human. All the praise and glory
goes to you. In your son Jesus Christ I pray. Amen.

From “Now What?”
A 2015 Lenten Devotional
Reprinted with permission of Prison Congregations of America
Devotionals are written by prison inmates

Leave a Reply

