Lenten Devotional: Thursday, March 5, 2015

Mark 11:25-26 “And when you stand praying, if you hold anything against anyone
forgive him, so that your Father in heaven may forgive you your sins.”debt-forgiveness

This scripture really touches my heart and mind. I had trouble forgiving people my
whole life, especially myself. As I grew older I worked on that part of my spiritual walk
in life. I had a brother and sister murdered who I was very close with, they were both
my best friends. Now I’m close with their children. This is where I struggle the most
with forgiveness. I wanted to take matters into my own hands and do justice for my
family by harming the people who murdered my brother and sister. My mother said,
“My girl, have pity on them, forgive them, pray for them.” I tell you that was easier
said than done. I was free for 3 years 27 days and never did state time but I went to
Rapid City one day and my car was stolen so I reported it and found that I had a parole
warrant and that landed me in prison. I believe now that God put me here at the right
time. He brought to light the bad relationship I was in and how to completely forgive
the people who murdered my siblings. He also put people on my path that are helping
me through this. Since being here I’ve realized a lot and I’m continuing to grow in my
relationship with God. I’ve also realized how good God really is. I did lose two aunties
and a grandma since being here. That’s been a test for me. I think it taught me how
to use God and lean on him. Since being here the girl who was involved in my sister’s
murder passed away. I cried and I’m not quite sure why. I still don’t understand my
feelings.

Prayer: Lord, thank you for the opportunity to get to know you a lot better than I ever
did. Thank you for the women I’ve met that help me to get through my hard times
through you. Thank you for dying for me and for forgiveness. It’s awesome. You’re
awesome. Amen.

From “Now What?”
A 2015 Lenten Devotional
Reprinted with permission of Prison Congregations of America
Devotionals are written by prison inmates

Leave a Reply

