Lenten Devotional: Wednesday, March 4, 2015

1 John 4:4 “You, dear children, are from God and have overcome them because
the one who is in you is greater than the one who is in the world.”prayer1

I think I was born again from the womb. My mom is a real prayer warrior. I was raised
a Christian and walked away, came back and after some years made a choice to live for
God because I wanted to, not because it was the Christian thing to do. Not long ago, I
read a book called Relentless Passion by Jeff Mann and his love for the Lord broke my
heart and I realized I’d never told my Lord, my savior who gave his precious life for me,
“I love you.” It changed me. It softened my heart and I learned to praise him and love
him. He’s blessed me beyond measure. I believe his word. He is faithful and just to
forgive us. I’d been going through a trial for a long time and when doubt and fear tried
to creep in, when I tried to think on the problem and not the solution (God’s word) I
stood on the verse above. God blessed me in a miraculous way, not only showing me
mercy but a beautiful show of hope to those who witnessed his faithful love! Miracles
do still happen today. He changed my sentence from life without parole to 40 years.
Glory be to God, hot dog and Amen!

Prayer: Father, in Jesus’ name, I give you all the glory and all the praise. I thank you for
your loving mercy. God granted me favor and a second chance. I ask you to teach me
to love you the way you deserve to be loved and help me to walk in love with others.
I don’t want to get ahead of you, father. I want to work out your plan for my life and I
thank you for showing me what I can do for you. Help me to be still and listen to your
voice. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

From “Now What?”
A 2015 Lenten Devotional
Reprinted with permission of Prison Congregations of America
Devotionals are written by prison inmates

Leave a Reply

