Lenten Devotional: Tuesday, March 3, 2015

Numbers 11:1 “And the people grumbled and deplored their hardships, which
was evil in the ears of the Lord, and when the Lord heard it, his anger was
kindled; and the fire of the Lord burned amoncomplaintsg them and devoured those in the
outlying parts of the camp.”

As I read this passage today during my devotional time I felt a “thud” in my spirit. How
often do I grumble and complain, especially inwardly, about my present situation? My
own sin has put me in this wilderness. The Lord has rescued me from my bondage and
is bringing me to his promised land. He always and continually meets all of my needs,
even needs I am not aware of. He is so good!

Prayer: Dear Lord Jesus, help me to not forget how serious you view complaining
because it curses me and keeps me wandering in circles. Instead let me be led by your
joy and appreciate what your death on the cross purchased for me. Help me to always
be grateful and speak of praiseworthy things. In your name, Amen.

From “Now What?”
A 2015 Lenten Devotional
Reprinted with permission of Prison Congregations of America
Devotionals are written by prison inmates

Leave a Reply

