Lenten Devotional: Monday, March 2, 2015

1 John 4:10-12 “This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and
sent his son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins. Dear friends, since God so
loved us, we also ought to love one another. No one has ever seen God, but if
we love one another, God lives in us and his love is made complete in us.”eyes-of-jesus

I ask for Jesus’ eyes. I ask for the father of lights to transport my idea of love through
eternity where it all began – and where it will never end. To be able to see a broken
soul is more costly than any amount of gold; to search out the lost, the despised and the
undeserving according to this world. No, the homeless teen who threw away his dream
will never see the face of God walking down the street – but he will recognize God
in the hand that reaches out for him, taking him and the lost children in, that our own
actions have dismissed. Lord, you go back for them – you send me back for them. You
give me the gift of love so freely – I shake the bitter parts of me so your spirit can gently
but powerfully plow through me.

Prayer: Dear Jesus, you call the who-so-evers. I am a who-so-ever but your love has
healed the leper in me. May I be your precious hands and feet. Throw dirt in my eyes
and give me your vision. I was blind but now I see. Amen.

From “Now What?”
A 2015 Lenten Devotional
Reprinted with permission of Prison Congregations of America
Devotionals are written by prison inmates

Leave a Reply

