Lenten Devotional: Monday, February 23, 2015

forgiveMatthew 7:12 [Jesus said] “So in everything do to others what you would have
them do to you, for this sums up the Law and the Prophets.”

Do unto others? Wow, that’s a concept left behind as we commit our crimes; selfish
becomes the addict or thief. To love one another as God loves us is not a common
practice in prison. What if we choose to love; where could the limits go? Heavenward
for sure. Today to walk my path of faith I consider the victims of my crime, I think of all
who cross my path before I think of myself. The blessing that comes with total love for
God and for all those who God loves and for me, one of God’s chosen; child of God.
Forgiveness, judgment free; yes wow, what a concept!

Prayer: Today Father God I choose love over hate! I choose to forgive and now I live
judgment free because you have made us all new in your light. Thank you Jesus. It’s in
your way we live and in your name we pray. Amen.

From “Now What?”
A 2015 Lenten Devotional
Reprinted with permission of Prison Congregations of America
Devotionals are written by prison inmates

Leave a Reply

