Lenten Devotional: Saturday, February 21, 2015

Ephesians 2:8 “And it is by grace you have been saved, through faith – and even
that is not of yourselves, but the gift of God.”

Psalm 26:1-2 “Do me justice, O God! For I walked in integrity and I have
trusted in you without wavering. Search me, O God, and test me; examine my
heart and my mind.”

There’s a huge difference between being self-centered and having self love. To love
others, we must first learn to love ourselves. For a long time I’ve struggled with what
God’s will for me really is. It seemed distant and ephemeral. Recently, it came to me
that God’s will is to not say or do that which I know is wrong – the rest of it will take
care of itself.???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Prayer: Lord, help us to love ourselves as you love us. For in this human life, self-acceptance unlocks the door to you! Without that, we are closed off from the sunlight
of the spirit. Amen.

From “Now What?”
A 2015 Lenten Devotional
Reprinted with permission of Prison Congregations of America
Devotionals are written by prison inmates

Leave a Reply

